Menu Close

NACONEK’s council composition consists of a Chairperson, Council Secretary/Chief Executive Officer and eleven (11) Council Members. This is the policy organ of the Council. The Council meets at least every three months, which translates into four times a year to review projects and programs of the Secretariat. The Council members provide policy guidance, strategic direction and general oversight on the operations of the Council.

The Secretary/Chief Executive Officer heads the secretariat team. The Secretary is the Accounting Officer, responsible for the day-to-day administration and management of the National Council for Nomadic Education in Kenya (NACONEK). NACONEK has a Deputy Director of education working with other three technical officers supported with twelve (12) other cadres including three (3) Supply Chain Management Officers, one (1) Accountant, one (1) Records Management Officer, two (2) Assistant Office Administrators, two (2) Clerical Officers, Two (2) Drivers and One (1) Cleaning Supervisor.

council members

Hon. Beth M. K Syengo,
M.A Community Development,
Winchester University (UK),
B.Ed., Kenyatta University

Acting Chairperson

Hon. Beth S. Kalunda has an wealth of experience in the education sector spanning many decades, having worked in various capacities as a High School Teacher. She has served on various boards of corporate entities including Kenya Medical Training College (KMTC), Maendeleo Ya Wanawake Organization (MYWO), KENGROW (NGO), Kenya Red Cross Society-Mwingi Branch, NGOCAP (CBO) and Ngomeni Secondary School.

Truphena Kirongo,

Council Member

Truphena Kirongo is a distinguished Civil servant with a career spanning over 30 years. Truphena joined the teaching service in 1986 as a teacher and progressively rose to positions of Senior Education Officer, Deputy Municipal Education Officer and Municipal Education Officer to Senior Assistant Director of Education in the Ministry of Education. Deputy Director General at the Ministry of Education’s State Department of Early Learning and Basic Education She sits on the Council to represent Education PS.

Catherine A. Wameyo,

Council Member

Catherine A. Wameyo has over 20 years’ experience in accounting and finance fields both in private and public sectors holding various positions of responsibilities. Currently, she is an assistant Director Finance and Accounts at National Council for Persons with Disabilities. She doubles up as Ag. Deputy Director – Corporate Services at the National Council for Persons with Disabilities (NCPWD).

Dr. Silvia Kanyaa Vundi, Ph.D./M.Ed./B.Ed

Council Member

Dr. Silvia Kanya Vundi is a self-driven professional with over twenty years of work experience at three different education levels, namely Secondary, Technical and University. She has served in various capacities with various government institutions. She is currently a Deputy Director – Capacity Building & Technical Assistance in the Ministry of Devolution and ASAL. She sits on the Council to represent Devolution and the ASALs PS

Sheikh Irshad Ibrahim,
MSc/BSc. Economics

Council Member

He is a Director at World Assembly of Muslim Youth (WAMY) East African Office and Wamy High School. Has over ten years of experience in senior level management with various regional and international development agencies. Irshad is a life member of Kenya Institute of Economic Affairs (KIEA) and a member of International Institute of Certified Forensic Investigation Professionals (IICFIP). He is a council member of Dedan Kimathi University of Technology. He has vast experience in working with various Development Agencies, corporate and public entities including BBC World Service, Health Unlimited (UK) E. Africa Office, Direct Aid International and WASO Trading Co. Ltd. He chairs the Finance and Audit Committee.

Timira Diyad Elmi,
M.Ed./B.Ed./Dip. Ed.

Council Member

Timira Diyad is an expert in early Childhood Education. She has close to thirty (30) years of work experience in the education sector having taught in various learning institutions across the country.

Harun M. Yusuf

HSC. Secretary/CEO, 

Harun is the Secretary and Chief Executive Officer at the National Council for Nomadic Education in Kenya (NACONEK) since August 2017. He is an accomplished educationist with close to twenty years of experience. He served in various portfolios: Provincial Chairman-Kenya Secondary Schools Heads Association (KESSHA), North Eastern Province. He was a member of the National Executive Committee of the KESSHA and a member of Provincial Education Board. Prior to joining NACONEK, he served as Chairman, Garissa County Public Service Board from July 2013- July 2017. During the 18 years (1994-2012) of teaching,

Rebecca Tonkei,
M.Ed./B.Ed./P.1 Certificate in Education.

Council Member

Rebecca Tonkei has over twenty years in teaching. She has worked as a Deputy Director Peace Building and Conflict Management, Office of the Deputy President. She served in Parliamentary Service Commission as a Principal Human Resource Development Officer. She currently chairs the Human Resource        Management Committee

Linus Ekai Evans,
M.Ed./BA/Dip. Ed

Council Member

Fr. Linus Ekai has taught various schools as he continued to study theology in various institutions locally and internationally. He holds both a Certificate and Diploma in philosophy and Religious Studies from St. Augustine’s Major Seminary, Mabanga, Bungoma, Kenya. He also holds a Diploma in Theology from St. Thomas Aquinas Major Seminary, Nairobi, Kenya


Dr. Gilbert Arap K. Bor,

Council Member

Dr. Bor is currently a Senior lecturer in Marketing and Management at Catholic University of Eastern Africa, Gaba Campus, Eldoret. Dr. Bor is as a Certified public Accountant and has wide experience in the corporate world; he served at Constitution of Kenya Review Commission (CKRC) as a Uasin Gishu District Coordinator, Rift Valley Bottlers Ltd (Coca Cola Franchise). Dr. Bor Chairs the Policy and Partnerships Committee in the Council.

Fatuma Abubakar,

Council Member

Fatuma Abubakar is a vibrant youth, who seats at the helm- Chairperson of the National Youth Council. Fatuma has worked in senior positions with various public and private entities including Caravan Real Estate Developers and Properties Ltd, City Link Pharma Ltd, IEC/IRS, Red Cross Society of Kenya and Interim Independent Electoral Commission. She has served in various boards including Garissa County Education Board and National Employment Authority.

Lucy chepkomon loboo,

Council Member

Lucy Loboo is a community development specialist. She has had wide travels and work experience from lecturing at Kisi University to working at Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission, Ministry of Planning and National Development and vision 2030, Dollar Consultants Ltd, and GoK/Arid lands Resource Management Project II and KNBS.

Skip to content